Chapter 12: The Sixth Division (Dairoku)

The Sixth Division, commonly known as the Dairoku.

The Dairoku is said to be a manufacturing corps. It is a special division.

You need to love the work here to be able to do it. You need to have the dexterity, patience, and cleverness to carefully control and weave magic power.

In the first four divisions, if you have strong magic power and can attack, and if you are cooperative, you can join, but you can’t enter the 6th division if you do not have a brain (stupid).

If the 1st-5th division asks for it, they will make magical tools.

In addition to that, they also deal with quite a bit of secrecy, such as the development of magic tools as determined by the state, setting up relocation magic circles and traps in the castle and in the main part of the royal capital, and connecting the border to the royal castle with a large transition gate. (Border security is guarded by both the royal and frontier county armies, which is why there are joint exercises every year.)

There are rumors that “tools” are sown so that the conditions of the lords and people of each territory scattered in Elementia, as well as the weather and land conditions can be grasped.

The color of the Dairoku’s uniforms are deep purple. In the past, the left wing of the northern detached palace was destroyed (not intentionally, but for the sake of construction), and so the basement of the palace, which is wrapped in a protective wall made of magical buffers, is now the Dairoku’s base.

Many of the people are very quiet, so people don’t know much about them, but they may be the most dangerous people in the world.

***

“Hey, you over there.”

I was approached in the dining room and turned around.

There is a dining room at the back of the first floor of the North Detached Palace.

My classmates, Helena Diaz Cubic and Judy Anne Dantrow, and I had just finished lunch and were discussing whether we should go to the benches in the courtyard of the North Garden for an after-dinner break. It was a after-meal stroll.

There was a tall man with silver hair and light blue eyes, standing there in a purple uniform. He looked somewhat older than me.

Helena and Judy are taking a step back, sensing something.

In a short time, we got along well and soon started calling each other by our nicknames.

I quickly took a step back, and they both took another step back at the same time.

Hmm, great reflexes.

“My name is Cerezo Fisaris. I’d like to have a word with you for a moment.”

Fisaris is the son of a margrave, isn’t he?

As I recall…someone said that Cerezo of the Dairoku was a rare magic (enchantment) genius…

A princess has been married to a margrave count many times. He had the delicate beauty that is the hallmark of royalty.

“May I ask you a few questions about what you want to tell me before I decide what to do?”

“Oh, I’m sorry, I just talked it through with Division Commander Hades. I’m sure he’ll want to talk to you later. I just couldn’t resist the urge to talk to you first when I saw your face…I wanted to see if you could help me with my purification project. I can’t get things done on my own, and I thought it would be nice to have your help, or at least a sense of how things might work out.”

Somehow, I thought he didn’t seem like a bad person, he seemed to be a polite guy who would talk directly in a way that I could understand properly.

“Then…I’ll check with Division Commander Hades, and since I can’t make a decision on my own, I’ll have to talk to my father about it first.”

“Thank you.”

In case you’re wondering, I said my father, but it’s Zak who lives with me, so I told Zak about it first when I got back.

“Originally, this project was supposed to be a countermeasure against the stagnation of magical power caused by the royal blood. I’m not sure how many people have died prematurely because of the royal blood. If we could develop it, it would have many uses and reduce the burden on all of the purifiers. It’s not a bad idea to make Fii’s life easier, but we need to be prepared for anything. Most importantly, if Fii gets injured, it’s a disaster. It’s just a matter of what happens to Fii, so what do you want to do?”

Zak is a bit of a worrier. He doesn’t show it on his face, but I can that tell he’s always looking out for my health and injuries. That’s why I take care of myself so that I don’t cause him to worry.

“You know, I’d like to help that person make a purification spell if he can make it.”

“Okay.”

I can’t make it myself, but if I can help and that person can make that magic tool, I would. I was very worried that if something happened to me, there would be no one left who could purify Zak.

Then Zak handed me two trinkets.

“This is a very powerful defensive device that was given to me by my brother long ago when I was a child. If there are any harmful intentions towards the person who wears it, whether they use magic or violence, everything is returned to them. And in the case of force majeure, it is offset. It’s an ancient magic tool.”

There was a click, and the gold choker hardware was fastened to the back of my neck.

“……”

I can’t hide my surprise that there is such a magical tool.

“And this ring will return all poisons to nothingness, then this red stone light will flash…well, just think of it as an amulet.”

The gold ring with the red stone buried in it changed to the size of my finger as it was slid down my finger.

I’m kind of scared! Do you really have to go that far!?

“But shouldn’t you be wearing it?”

“I don’t use it because I don’t need it anymore. I just need Fii to wear it.”

“…yes, thank you.”

Well, it’s better to be careful…

Even if I’m wearing this, I think it’s better if Zak is safe.

***

“You have some really amazing stuff on you.”

That was the first thing Cerezo Fisaris said to me the next time I saw him.

He seemed to sense something in the trinkets given by Zak.

Cerezo had a special laboratory on the ground floor of the North Palace, which was located on the third floor. If you visit at a prearranged time and date, you will be shown into the laboratory at once.

It is said that the room is an adjoining room, with a living room, a laboratory, a dormitory and a shower room. The inside of the laboratory is neat and tidy, and there is even a sofa set and table in the corner. It was a relaxing atmosphere.

I was prompted to sit on the sofa, and when I sat down, a tray with a variety of magical jewelry was placed on the table. In addition to the trays, many boxes containing magic stones were piled up as well.

Magic stones are much more powerful as tools, and they are also valuable and rare as jewelry. And they are very expensive.

“I’ve always wanted to do something about the ‘stagnation of magic power’, also known as the curse of the royal family, since I was a child. The Fisaris family is rich in royal blood. Many of my relatives have lived an short life. You, on the contrary, have the Tizar family’s purification eyes. You’re the only one who can remove the magical stagnation. Because of that, many with those eyes were short-lived because they were forced to use their power for the royal family. If I can create a magic tool that can erase the stagnation of magic power, I think it will be good for me and for you. So, I’m asking for your cooperation.”

I thought I could see a sincere heart in Cerezo Fisaris’ eyes.

“I would be very happy if I could help make that magic tool too. If my magic power can help you, please let me help you.”

I met his gaze and replied.

“Then let’s begin. Let me explain to you how to proceed, you will choose a magic stone that is compatible with you. Then I will ask you to purify the stagnation of magic in me, and transfer the information from that purification to the magic stone you chose. First, can you take the magic stone there in your hand?”

After listening to his explanation, I picked up the magic stones there.

I touched them in order so that I wouldn’t lose track of which ones I touched.

Except for the ones I touched, I proceeded to the next one, and so on. The magic stones I was interested in were placed on the tray beside me.

Warm, cold, soft, hard, spiky, slippery, rough, pulled, popped, pulled in, falling, surfacing……

Every time I hold a stone, I get different feelings…I like this, I don’t like this, I don’t like that, and this is normal. I separate the stones with that feeling alone.

Cerezo leaned against the window and watched me in silence.

It went on for a long time, with occasional breaks.

“……Oh, this one. This one, is the same…as me, neither pulling nor playing, but assimilating to the point where I can’t tell if I’m melting and mixing in…or vice versa, to the point where I can’t tell if I’m touching it.”

Before I knew it, I closed my eyes and opened my clenched hands, and in there was a magical gemstone with gold needle-like crystals inside the stone with the same color as my eyes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

|♡| Table of Contents |♡| Support me! |♡|

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started