Chapter 31: The Little Silver Bird

As night fell, Zak came to the vicinity of the lord’s mansion.

It was an old stone castle surrounded by stone walls. Mercenaries and soldiers are stationed and patrols are also being made. We quietly looked around from the shadows. I was protected by Zak, so I wasn’t worried at all.

The tribal chief had been taken as a hostage. The tribe’s name was the Hazuchi tribe.

“How is Zak going to help? If it’s something dangerous for Zak, then I don’t want it.”

“Hmm? There’s nothing dangerous about it. It’s okay.”

With that, Zak took a pinch of his long, beautiful hair, selected one of them, and plucked it out.

The single silver thread plucked from his fingertips, glistened. When Zak blew on it, thee silver thread gradually transformed into a bird fluttering in the air.

“Wow, a little bird.”

“Once you get the hang of it, you’ll be able to do it too, Fii. You’ll need a part of your body like hair or nails to do it, though.”

“I see, I’m impressed that you can make a little bird with just one strand of hair.”

Zak’s silvery white hair flapped its wings as it became a silver little bird. The little bird circled around Zak and I and flew away to the lord’s mansion.

The little silver bird soon found the rock prison where the tribal chief of the Hazuchi tribe was being held.

It was not an underground cell, but a cell that uses the outside wall of the mountain, and although it was more hygienic than the underground cell, the food was still minimal and the tribal chief was very thin. A little bird led me to the prison, and when I went to the prison with Zak’s magic, I found that all the prison guards and the other sinners were asleep except for the tribal chief.

The sudden appearance of Zak and I startled him to the point of almost sitting up at first, but I can roughly guess what he thought. I crawled to the ground and rubbed my head.

I told the tribal chief of the Hazuchi tribe that Zak would briefly explain the gist of it, and that I was sending him to the tribal village.

The little silver bird entered through the iron bars of the prison and spat out what looked like plant seeds from its mouth at the tribal chief’s feet, and a magic circle was built around it and began to glow. Then suddenly the tribal chief’s body sank into it, and with a twisted expression of surprise, the figure disappeared.

“Now, let’s go for one last check. Whichever path they choose, Fii will have no regrets, right? Or do you want to leave without seeing their choice?”

“I have no regrets. Thank you, Zak. So, Mini-kun, what about you? Do you want to go with them? Or do you want to go back to the forest?”

Mini-kun, didn’t like that and stuck close to my feet, making a small yelp.

“But you don’t have any friends in the Western Country, Mini-kun. Do you still think you’re okay with that?”

Mini-kun nods his head assuredly.

I look at Zak, unsure of what to do.

“You must be someone liked by the spirits. The small spirits are fickle and friendly. So if you like it, it will stay with you. But if you don’t like it Fii, you can just get rid of it and go home. They will act as you see fit.”

“Okay, then can I go back to Zak’s house with him then?”

I feel sorry for him and I’m not sure I’d be able to throw him away.

“If that’s what Fii wants, I’ll accept it.”

“Yes, thank you.”

“Oh, but you can’t take that earthen body with you. Just give him something else to possess when you get back.”

“Then I’ll do that.”

Then Zak took me in his arms and transferred us to the Hazuchi village.

Then, in front of the transition gate in the village square, I saw everyone gathered together. I wondered what was going on, so I floated up to them in the air with Zak, and when we got closer to them, they all noticed and prostrated. No, no, no, really, please don’t do this again…

“I’d like to thank you very much, Great god and Princess Mori, for your help. After we settle down, we will definitely set up an altar and offer up daily prayers of gratitude.”

After the Tutsi chief’s greeting, the strong men ducked through the gate first, followed by the mothers with their children, and then the elderly. They bowed their heads one last time, and as the chief walked through the gate, several balls of light disappeared behind the gate as if in pursuit.

“The south they are going to is just across the border from the Western Country. It was the battlefield of the past wars between the west and the imperial army, and they have lost most of their people, spending 128 years working to rebuild it and focusing on reconstruction. Elementia is involved in helping to rebuild it.”

“So they’ll have a place to live?”

“If you go there on your own, you’ll be fine, because we’re working hard to bring in immigrants. The next time we have a battle with the north or the east, it will be in the east where the battlefield is.”

That’s a relief, then.

After seeing everything, I went home with Zak and a little ball of light. The two of us faced the faint blue glowing magic circle and intertwined our fingers. The scenery changed from one to another and it didn’t take long before we returned to Zak’s house. It’s a bit of an understatement to call it a house, but this was the home where I felt most at home now.

The two of us snuggled up on the sofa in the detached mansion, and then faced each other, flowing and receiving each other’s magic power and checking the other’s physical condition.

I was be able to see that Zak used a lot of magical power, so even a small stagnation of magical power might be on the verge of accumulating. The thought of that made me uneasy, so I carefully and slowly purified his body.

The little ball of light still hadn’t decided on a body yet either, so it seemed to enjoy flying around the mansion happily as it pleases.

I was apparently more tired than I thought I would be, so I started to doze off and finally fell asleep leaning against Zak. It was Zak who magically purified me and carried me to my bed.

A lot of things had happened, but I was very happy to spend today with Zak again.

Oh yeah, if I had to say one thing, I’d say that the little silver bird that Zak let fly today was so cute and lovely. I’d like to make make Mini-kun into a little birdie.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

|♡| Table of Contents |♡| Support me! |♡|

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started