Chapter 150: Dav’s Wings

Chapter 150 of “Mastering Magic in an Otome Game Part 4 (Eildart Castle During Winter Break)”

The ruckus from the beast-child invasion had settled down for the moment, and now that the sun was going down, we all decided to go inside the castle.

With the setting sun in the background, the beast-children were running about, screaming happily. I was chasing after them, but then I noticed that the Brave and Dav brothers were walking far behind.

I didn’t want them to get lost in the castle, so I went back with Brother Will. Brave-san called out to me sayin, “We’ll go after you, so don’t worry.”

But from the looks of it, Brave-san seemed to be keeping pace with Dav-boy. (***T/N: She calls him ‘Dav-shounen.’ Shounen means ‘boy’ or ‘young man’ so she is basically calling him something like ‘Dav-boy’ or ‘the boy Dav’ or even something like ‘young man Dav’ depending on the the context)

“What’s wrong?”

I asked him if he had hurt his leg on the trip, but he shook his head and said it was nothing like that.

“You don’t have to worry about it. I’m unable to run in the first place.”

“…Unable to run?”

I asked about it. But then, thinking that I might have said something bad, I clamped my mouth shut.

However, seeing this, Brave-san replied in a hurry.

“Don’t worry about it, Alice. The reason he can’t run anymore is not because he was born with it or because it was an accident. Rather, it’s because he did it to himself.”

“Yes, so you really don’t have to worry about it!”

“Oh, is that so?”

As I was wondering what on earth he had done, the boy began talking with his chest puffed out and his hands on his hips.

“I’ve always wanted to fly since before I can remember. When I was five, I tried to fly out of a tree with my homemade bird-like wings on my arms, but I failed spectacularly and fell!”

“What!?”

“Hmm…He was a student in school at the time, and he was a bit naughty when he was young…There weren’t many people who could keep an eye on this guy.”

“It was natural that my grand goals and experiments failed. I failed back then because of my inexperience, but now I can do better!”

“Ahh…I’ll be watching you to make sure you don’t do it again on your own, Dav.”

Mm, he’s too reckless. It seems that he injured his leg by trying to fly by himself.

Moreover, the fact that he hadn’t learned his lesson at all was too much in line with a mad scientist. In fact, for some reason, his eyes were shining even brighter.

But Brave’s exhausted sigh seemed to make him feel bad…He scratched his cheek and turned his attention to the near future.

“W-Well, that’s why I’m sorry for the trouble I’ve caused brother…?”

“Do you really understand? If so, why do you still go off on your own?”

After being reminded, Brave let out the biggest sigh of the day at Dav-boy, who swerved his eyes and started whistling poorly.

However, after a moment, he gave a wry smile…

“I know I say a lot of things, but I’m the exact same way when it comes to being a research idiot. Even though that happened to him…no, that’s why we both couldn’t give up our research on flight. It’s part of the reason why we came here together.”

“Is that so?”

I was surprised. Then, with eyes sparkling with dreams, Brave-san raised the goggles on his head.

“One day I want to be able to get Dav to go anywhere at the same speed as the other beastmen…no, even faster than anyone else. II’m sure you’ll agree that the sky is better than the ground, right? I even went ahead and made something like this for that purpose.”

“……Brother……!”

Dav-boy was moved by Brave-san’s determination.

Yeah, it’s a good story…I almost sniffled, and was convinced by the presence of the goggles being held up.

“I see. So that’s why you have goggles.”

“—!?”

As soon as I said the word “goggles” with a convinced look on my face, the two of them swooped in. The atmosphere changed.

And then, excitedly, they crowded me saying, “Do you know what these are!?” And then, as if in a state of excitement, they came closer.

“Hey, calm down—!”

The two of them were being scolded by Brother Will, but he couldn’t stop their excitement.

Their tails were wagging so much that it almost seemed like they were going to come off.

“This is our original tool, it’s not in circulation! For the sake of convenience, I was tentatively calling it hawk-eyed glass…So, you’ve figured out at a glance why this tool exists!?”

“Y-Yes. It’s to protect your eyes when flying fast in the sky, right? It’s necessary, so I was thinking of making one myself…”

“…After all, I knew it was a good idea to come see this person, Brother!!”

“Yes, that’s right, Dav!!”

The Metro brothers were clasping their hands together.

Even the brother Brave, who was normally calm, was now going crazy…?!? As I was standing there stunned, Brother Will smiled bitterly.

“So that’s why he was wearing those mysterious glasses for…No, Dav is a bit, well, quite a bit off the beaten path in Advenzia. He’s always carrying around mysterious tools and prototypes that we don’t really know what they’re used for…Alice instantly understood that, and is so happy about it.”

Oh, I see.

It seemed that it was too far ahead of the times and people around me were taking notice.

“Yes! If you lived a normal life, you wouldn’t need glasses to protect your eyes! But Miss Alice could see the need for this at a glance! She even gave it a name and thought of it herself—!! This is an amazing thing, Wilhelm-senpai!!”

“Yes, eye protection is essential for high-speed flight!”

Wow, the brothers spun around and were overjoyed. It seemed that the mad scientist had recognized me as a fellow companion.

Also, Brave-san apparently had the secret mad scientist attribute. He looked normal, but he really was Dav’s brother after all.

“Together…! Will you study together with me!?”

“Huh?”

“Hey, you!”

Brother Will’s guard, which had been relaxed due to his dismay, was broken through, and the boy grabbed me firmly by the hand. Then he looked at me with sparkling eyes.

“I’ll give you all the research results and ideas we’ve accumulated! We’ll get you the materials, and you can leave the building to us! Now then, let me join you in your research. Please say yes, Miss Alice!!”

“Hiii…”

I couldn’t help but shake my head at the sheer force of the situation.

Then again, the brother and I were overjoyed. They were both overjoyed.

Not only the boy (Dav), but even Brave-san’s calm and mature atmosphere was gone. He was now like a large, excited dog.

W-Well thats…reassuring…? I guess I can think of this as an addition to my enthusiastic group of friends, right?

“Thank you, Miss Alice! If you want, I can be your aide as a thank you!”

“No, that’s okay.”

“Why!?”

…The energy is too much, so even if we do joint research…

I thought it would be essential to keep Brave-san as sane as possible.

[Original Author’s Note] The sane brother also turns out to be a research geek.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

T/N: So Dav is the crazy mad scientist, and Brave is the closet mad scientist. A perfect duo for Alice, the fantasy fanatic~

Translations are still coming a little slowly from me, but I assure you, I’ll have more time by the end of this month so I appreciate everyone’s understanding! Stay safe everyone!

|♡| Previous |♡| Table of Contents |♡| Support me! |♡| Next |♡|

One thought on “Chapter 150: Dav’s Wings

  1. Thanks for the chapter~!
    I mean… everyone is crazy about something, what changes is how much, lol.
    Both of them are like me, talking about games and anime hahaha

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started