Chapter 23: Haunted House of the Marquis of Comona part 3

That night, the Marquis of Comona and the five magic division members ate dinner together.

It was a full-course meal, starting with appetizers and ending with coffee and pastries. The taste of the common people is good, but sometimes luxurious meals like this are a pleasure too.

In these cases, we stayed in our magic division uniforms. There is no such thing as changing into a dress just because you are a woman.

In the meantime, the troop uniform and body have been purified. Judy was also purified.

“Thank you, having a friend who is a purifier really helps.”

“Shall I apply a cleansing to the two men? When I asked them with Helena, they both said yes, so I called them one by one.”

Perhaps he’s getting used to it, but Hemmings is starting to lose his twang. Maybe he’s just incredibly shy! He was scared. (***lol, Hemmings is just a giant teddy bear, isn’t he?)

He’s unexpectedly cute, having a girthy build and yet being scared. He’s like a big scared dog.

The next day, we left from the Marquis’ house for Villaha village by carriage.

We left early in the morning in the carriage and arrived at about 3:30 in the afternoon, so we went to the Marquis of Comona’s villa, where we were going to stay, and rode the horses that were available there.

I’m most worried about Judy getting a high on the horse, but I think she’ll be fine.

Villaha was a beautiful village. The lake reflects the scenery of this world like a mirror, and the contrast between the surface of the water and the actual scenery makes everything look unreal.

“It’s a beautiful place, isn’t it?”

“Yes, and just a little further, you’ll see the villa across the river.”

However, the summer villa looked quite dilapidated, as if it had been neglected for more than twenty years.

It would have been a very beautiful building originally, but the paint on the white wooden walls were peeling off, and it looked like it could be called a haunted house as it was covered with tall trees around it. From there, we approached the villa around the lake to the right.

“This one needs a bit of tending to before we can move on to the back, I’ll have the landlord arrange it tomorrow.”

The Marquis of Comona said, annoyed by the roughness of the situation.

“Oh, may I try something?”

Then, unusually, Hemmings called out.

Then he stepped forward and gestured for everyone to step back a little, which we did.

Hemmings’ eyes seemed to darken in color.

Then he went forward and put his hand in front of him, moving his fingertips lightly.

There was a faint hum of the wind, and a large amount of weeds and miscellaneous trees that had blocked the path were cut low, opening a path just enough for a horse to run through.

“How wonderful it is to be able to use wind magic in this way.”

The Marquis is impressed. I was also impressed. You can earn a lot of pocket money by using it this way, and if it was used at home, it would be useful for your wife.

“Do you think you can mow the lawn for me?”

“Oh, leave it to me.”

I fantasized to myself.

While I was smiling to myself, Helena was looking at me with a worried look on her face.

“Sorry, I’m sorry, it’s not just Judy, I’m worried about you too.”

The Marquis of Comona’s two guards, the Marquis and five of us (making a group of eight), approached the summer villa and dismounted from our horses. The trees and weeds around the villa were cleaned up by Hemmings, so it looked much better.

In no time at all, the trees and weeds were gathered in one place where they wouldn’t get in the way of Hemmings’ wind.

The Marquis of Comona had also brought the key to the mansion, so I went in and looked.

Hemmings was hesitantly tip-toeing around the very back.

It’s a shame, because he was so cool earlier.

Inside the mansion, all of the furniture is covered with a white dust cloth, and it doesn’t look as damaged as it did outside, but I’d still like to open the windows and doors to let some air in.

“I’m going to check out the upstairs too,” I said, and me, Helena and Judy walked up the stairs. From the vaulted salon, up the spiral staircase, Helena and I purified the entire building four stories up. Ms. Hemmings helped with the letting air in and so on (***I think that the translation is calling Hemmings as ‘Ms. Hemmings’ to make fun of how scared he is).

As I entered the building, I didn’t feel any impurities or dark things. Even when put a purification spell on the house, there was no response. I looked at Helena.

“So we’re basically just some people who came to clean up, right?”

“Totally.”

Since I’ve come all this way, I thought I’d clean it up while I was at it, so I carefully purified it. Just then, I heard Hemmings’ scream from downstairs.

“Uuuuwwwaaaaaahhh!”

The three of us rushed down the stairs in a hurry.

Hemmings was alone around the front door, while the other four seemed to be rummaging around in the room below.

“What’s the matter with you, Hemmings?”

Helena asked. Everyone gathered on the entrance floor.

“A h-hand…a wh-white hand…”

“Hand?”

“On my shoulder…”

“…Are you sure?”

Helena’s sublimely cold blue eyes were indescribable.

After all, if you’re often afraid of them, you’ll find that even dead trees can look like ghosts…

It’s a good thing that he’s so big that it’s hard for us to put our hands on his shoulders.

“It’s not a lie, it’s not in my nature to do that!”

Could it be from his imagination?

“Well, you should have told me that in the first place.”

“You can’t tell me that!”

‘You’re missing the point, Hemmings.’ Wilt is holding back, but his shoulders are shaking. He’s laughing.

“Did you see anything else other than hands?”

“I saw her back. She had strawberry blonde curly hair. And she approached me.”

“What did she say?”

She said, “Hey, do you know Zeo?” I turned around and almost walked out.

“I’m pretty sure that’s my sister. My sister’s late mother’s family was strawberry blonde.”

The Marquis of Comona said this with a serious look on his face.

“Well, strawberry blondes are rare, so it’s very believable.”

Wilt says. “I certainly don’t see many strawberry blondes.”

“Yes, and Zeo is the name of the gardener man.”

“Why is she looking for him? Were they not together? Is that what caused her heart to remain?”

Well, at least that’s what was thinking on my own…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

T/N: Well this story is certainly taking a turn towards Scooby-doo horror. Let’s just hope Hemmings will last a few more chapters.

|♡| Table of Contents |♡| Support me! |♡|

3 thoughts on “Chapter 23: Haunted House of the Marquis of Comona part 3

  1. I was obsessed with Scooby Doo as a child. I would often ask my mum for permission to stay up late if there was a Scooby Doo marathon on tv😊

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started