Chapter 5: Let’s Go to Cross Island

The ‘Duke of Valmonter’s Residence’ is a townhouse

What a thing to say, Silk said (I was told that I shouldn’t call her Ms. Silk), and I couldn’t help but puff up my nose and laugh.

Because a noble townhouse is a place to live when you are in the royal capital during the social season, etc., as opposed to the country house (lord’s house) in your territory.

Therefore, there is no reason for such a castle-like townhouse if you think about it in a normal way.

When I asked her to explain to me how this was such a profound thing, Silk explained to me how it came about.

First of all, it seems that Zak grew up with his older brother, who was the king three generations ago, and he was very protective of him.

I’ve heard that the king’s brother wanted to give his brother Zak a large, rich estate to celebrate him becoming a duke, but Zak said he didn’t want it.

But his brother wouldn’t allow him to do so, so when Zak said he wanted Cross Island in place of the fiefdom, he readily agreed.

The kingdom of Elementia is the western continent, but there are many islands of all sizes scattered around the continent. Unbeknownst to the general public, there are rare species protected on these islands.

The island that Zak wanted is said to be the most unusual island farthest from the western continent.

The island was a large, cross-shaped island with a volcano at one of its pointed ends, and it was an island where a fire-eating dragon lived.

A fire-eating dragon! That’s scary. I’ve never seen a real dragon or anything like that.

I don’t know why he wanted such an island, but I imagined on my own that maybe they didn’t want it because it was too much of a hassle to manage the territory or something.

Even the means to go to such a distant island would probably need magic, so it’s a place that ordinary people can’t even go to.

I’m sure that only royalty and high ranking nobles with high magic power and the ability to use that kind of magic would be able to go there.

And the townhouse where Zak lives now is a castle that was forcibly given to him by his brother, the king, and is called Shion Castle.

The townhouse is Shion Castle, and apparently there’s another castle in the territory of Cross Island.

I heard that the town house is Shion Castle and that Zak’s castle is located on Cross Island, which is his domain, and that it would be a Country House.

The king loved his brother Zak so much that it didn’t even hurt to look him in the eye, and called him “Shion-kun“ because of the color of his eyes.

He called him “Shion-kun” because of the color of his eyes, and he built this castle for him. If you say so, I thought the roof of this castle is also purple.

But I’m very jealous of having a brother that would take such good care of him.

After such a story, Frosty, the butler, said to me the other day,

“Miss, the master wanted to take you to Cross Island soon, so he said to prepare.”

“Oh, no, I don’t want to go. I can’t go with a dragon!”

“But, miss, if the master commands it, we can’t refuse him, can we?”

“Muu…”

That’s right. What Zak says is absolute here.

Come to think of it, the butler, Frosty, is apparently the snow and ice spirit named Jack Frost.

As I’ve come to live here, I’ve learned more and more that there are non-human people in human form working in the castle.

Frosty, the butler, said when he first met me,

“How do you do, Miss, I’m Frosty of Jack Frost.”

He was the palest, whitest, wearing all-black uncle I’d ever seen, with silver eyes and hair.

Even I, who is dull at this point, notices things. When I asked Zak, he simply answered, “They are not the only ones who have a magic contract with me.”

So I borrowed the “Non-Human” book from Zak and looked it up.

By the way, a Cait Sith is a cat fairy.

After I asked Frosty about the Cross Island, Zak told me about the Cross Island immediately.

“Yes, I forgot to tell Fii. In a little while, I’ll take you to an island called Cross Island.”

“Oh, no, I don’t want to go. I heard about the dragons and stuff, it’s really scary…”

“Hmm, the dragon isn’t as violent as the dragon in the story. It’s a very gentle dragon. Besides, the cross island has a lot of mana, so if you go there, you’ll be better at handling magic…”

“What? Really?”

I respond with a twitch.

“It’s true.”

When I hear the tempting words about getting better at magic, it makes me want to go.

These days, I’m slowly learning how to circulate magic power from Zak.

It’s an exercise in which you put your hands together with Zak and receive the magic power sent from your fingertips and spin it around your body.

I love the feeling of warm magic power slowly moving through my fingertips.

I can’t wait to be able to use my magic better. I want to do my best to get as close to Zak as possible. I have a very strong feeling about this.

“What else are you going to do?”

“I have a friend of mine on Cross Island.”

“A friend of yours?”

“My friend says that the fire-eating dragon’s eggs haven’t hatched, and they haven’t had any new eggs hatched in the last two hundred years. That’s what worries him, and he wants you to come.”

“Two hundred years?”

“Yeah, two hundred years. Isn’t that strange?”

“No, no, I’m not saying that. I’m just saying that your friend…”

“Besides, I was asked to get the song of the dragon from the Dairoku.”

“Dairoku? Are you going to get a song?”

What a strange thing to say.

“Oh, the dragon’s song of jubilee can be used to make magic tools and the like. You could say that the song is fetched by magic.”

“Is that so?”

Somehow, I understood what he was saying, but I didn’t really understand much.

Well, maybe I’ll figure it out sooner or later.

Besides, now that I think about it, this is the first time I’ve gone away since I’ve been here, and since Zak said he’s going to take me away with him by magic, I’m kind of looking forward to it.

What kind of dragon is a fire-eating dragon?

…I even thought about it and saw it in my mind! Now, I regret it…

I didn’t expect to travel alone in the jungle, did I?

Sure enough, Zak used the relocation magic circle that he had scattered around each island to get me to that island.

When I arrived, in the midst of the super, dense forest, Zak gave me a map.

I looked similar to the day when I ran away from home: shirt and pants, hat and backpack, with a diagonal water bottle. I had a water bottle slung across my neck and a compass hanging around my neck.

They are good quality products, and seem to have been infused with the magic of Zak, so the big backpack doesn’t feel heavy at all even though it’s carried on my back, and the boots I wear are the kind of thing I can run up and down a rocky wall at right angles.

The short hair cut is still intact since it’s only been about three months, but Zak has cast a spell on me that makes it look like a long, shiny, brown, glossy hair for the outside world, but to me, it was very surreal because it only looked short.

But I didn’t need that either, so it was still short, and I still looked like a boy for all intents and purposes.

“First of all, the starting point is right here, where you’re standing now, and then the end point is right here.”

Zak indicated the map with his white, graceful fingertips and laughed softly.

“No, I don’t need that, so why is there an exited smile with shimmering effects flowing out? And besides for me…”

The map of Cross Island is marked with a red cross on the map as the starting point.

It is one of the jutting ends of the four cross islands.

The end point is a volcano that is said to be home to a bulging fire-eating dragon at the opposite end, which is pointed straight from there. It’s like his friend’s house is at the foot of the mountain.

“……Far away.”

I just saw it on the map, but there’s no sense of distance.

“Well, I’ll be waiting here for you, Fii, so you can go and enjoy the different experiences.”

“What, wait, wait.”

In the blink of an eye, a glowing blue magic circle appeared at Zak’s feet, and Zak’s outer garments that I tried to grab disappeared, leaving Zak’s body heat at my fingertips.

“Yikes!”

I looked up at the sky.

The sky was endlessly blue, seen through the trees with their tropical foliage.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

|♡| Table of Contents |♡| Support me! |♡|

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started