Chapter 19: Escape

“Earlier, Lady Elaine said that she was being targeted herself.”

“Yes.”

“How did you know it was you?”

As the crown prince, I am always in the position of being targeted. But what made her think she was the cause of it?

“…My husband had received a threatening letter.”

“A threatening letter?”

“Of course, my husband wouldn’t let me see it, and he kept quiet about it at home. But you can’t help but know that something is up. People often tell me I’m slow and that I can’t read the atmosphere, but there are still things I understand.”

“Understand.”

“Yes…that my husband, who has been with me for fifty years, is hiding something. That something related to me was happening…I knew that much right away. It’s also becoming clearer and clearer that every time I go out, there’s something strange going on, and that I’m being targeted.”

Lady Elaine talks about it like it’s nothing, but that sounds like a pretty big deal.

“The decisive factor was that I found a copy of the threatening letter.”

“A copy?”

“Yes. To be precise, there was a copy left in the trash can in the study.”

…I don’t know whether to blame the duke for being bypassed or to praise Lady Elaine for finding it.

“So. I found out that my husband was being threatened with me.”

“…‘Threatened’ means they have a purpose, but what are they threatening you about?”

“The letter said that someone who has a grudge against me is going to kill me.”

“…resentment.”

“Yes…I’m not going to make any excuses about it. I feel that it’s something I should bear.”

Elaine said flatly.

“But I am very sorry to have gotten Your Highness involved in this.”

“It’s all right now.”

For the time being, I don’t think there’s any danger now that we’re underground…

The problem is that I don’t know where we are.

And I don’t know where I’m going to end up if I keep walking.

Perfect, I’m lost.

“I’m sorry for all the commotion that’s been going on at the Royal Palace, and I’m sorry for my husband.”

“I don’t think you need to worry about that.”

“What?”

“Because I’m in a married couple, so I think it’s a match made in heaven.”

“Are you sure you want to be a part of this?”

Elaine looks at me with a puzzled expression.

“Yes…His Highness is the same, but I wonder why he is so secretive like that. It’s for me, but he’s quick to hide it.”

“…Well.”

Lady Elaine smiles at my complaint.

“I was a little relieved to find that all husbands are alike.”

“Yes. Yes, that’s right. So my husband isn’t the only one.”

“That’s right,”

I nodded, stating with a flat nod.

Then Lady Elaine and I talked to each other about how secretive our husbands were, as if we were competing with each other.

There was a real fifty-year age difference between us, but I didn’t feel that at all.

We walked along the stone corridor for a long time, and when we arrived at the door, Lady Elaine and I looked at each other.

Gulping, I swallowed my spit.

We knew that the plank was a door, and we both knew that I could open it.

“Let’s go.”

“Yes.”

We both look a little nervous and nod at each other.

Then I touch the door.

It slides open slowly, and a fresh breeze blows in through the door.

I take one step, two steps.

And then—

“Wow…”

“Oh my…”

We gasped at the sight before us.

“What…”

“How beautiful…”

Lady Elaine is speechless and is just fascinated.

“It’s amazing.”

The whole area was filled with light.

But as my eyes adjusted, I could see that there were many people in the light.

“…What is this place?”

It was probably the first time Elaine-sama had ever seen it. She looked a little uneasy.

“Perhaps it’s the downtown area of the royal capital. I’ve only been to the Utoria area, but it’s very similar.”

Probably somewhere in Utoria or close to it. Because that’s what the streets look like.

“Downtown…”

It was an unknown world to us.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

|♡| Table of Contents |♡| Support me! |♡|

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started